Female Hunting Problems

JennaKayeTaylor2

Growing up, my nickname was animal (yes, really) – From what I’ve been told, I was a sweetheart and SUCH a lover – but I was also a crazy tomboy who never wore shoes, enjoyed climbing trees, and somehow had dirt on me at all times. I was continually yearning to be in the outdoors – whether that be at our family cabin hunting with dad and cousins, playing sports, creek walking, or anything else I could get myself in to. Well, I am now in my 20’s and not much has changed. I still love climbing trees, spending time with family and friends hunting/fishing, and I also still have dirt on me most days of the week.

JennaKayeTaylor3

 

On the other hand, I love makeup. I love having my nails done, getting my hair done, going to sappy movies, and crafting. I am a GIRL. (shocker, I know) My point is, you can be a girl and still LOVE to hunt. Don’t get me wrong – I am not a “girly girl” by any means (I think dude is one of my top 10 words). I was raised and taught to pull my weight and to work hard no matter what. But I can do that with painted nails. And makeup.

The main reason that I bring this up is because far too often, I get individuals who comment on pictures that just outright attempt to degrade the human being that I am (too bad daddy raised a strong, confident woman who doesn’t take those words to heart!) These individuals look at my physical appearance, and seem to suddenly know exactly who I am and how I hunt. Well folks, I will continue to wear makeup and get my nails done; all while harvesting animals that will feed the hungry, my family, and myself. Shocking, I know – but none of these things affect the way in which I hunt, nor do they affect you. So ladies, let us continue to break stereotypes & rock the outdoor world!

Read below for a few female “hunting problems” that I’ve had to deal with – & message me if you have any suggestions!

  1. Trying to find camouflage clothes that FIT, and don’t include pink on them.

Growing up my hunting clothes consisted of a few army green shirts, my dad’s old jean camo pants, and probably a few other items that could be found at Walmart. Now that I am older and need clothes that have been tested in the harshest conditions, I choose SHE Outdoor (Bass Pro Shops) gear to equip me all year round. The SHE Outdoor clothing line can be found here, and is in my opinion, hands down the absolute BEST female hunting clothing on the market. They incorporate style and fit with comfort, high performance gear, and their clothing contains NO PINK (wahoo!!)

  1. Having to pee in the tree stand/field

Yep, I went there. Ladies, you’ve probably invested in the “Go Girl” or like me, you’ve learned to either hold it in, or you’ve gotten creative with your ways. The struggle.

  1. Never taken seriously (I could write a short novel on this one)

My family and friends know me better, but this couldn’t be truer in regards to individuals whom I meet for the first time – whether they be hunters or not. They immediately assume that I hunt maybe once or twice a year for the approval of others. Little do they know that I eat, breathe and sleep all things hunting, outdoors, and conservation. And believe me sweetheart, I know how to load a lot more than just a washer and dryer.

  1. Wanting to utilize everything possible for decoration

Antlers? Definite yes. Shotgun shells? YES. Turkey spurs? Oh yeah. Random bones found in the woods?……okay maybe that’s just me.

Thanks again for reading Wild4TheWoods! Follow me on Instagram and don’t forget to like my Facebook page.

“Connecting people to the outdoors and one another…”

sugnature1

Leave a comment